Angels beneath my window – Cuenca, Ecuador

Xmas procession (beneath window)2 w lost angel

Christmas procession beneath my window with lost angel © John Lamkin 2009

I am now in Cuenca, Ecuador staying at the Villa Nova Inn. It is reasonably priced and right next to the Tomebamba River.

Earlier this morning a procession of angels, a few shephards and others passed under my window. The Christmas songs they sang had a definite tropical beat. See Examiner photos.

Two doors down from the Villa Nova is Sakura, a wonderful japanese sushi restaurant–with many other great treats on their extensive menu, including the best miso soup I’ve had in a long time and a decadent homemade brownie with vanilla ice cream (yum!) both that I just finished eating–all for slightly over $5 US (Ecuador uses the U.S. Dollar).

More to come–stay tuned.

RESOURCES:

Cuenca, Ecuador Tourism

3 thoughts on “Angels beneath my window – Cuenca, Ecuador

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Angels beneath my window – Cuenca, Ecuador « Travel Writing & Photography -- Topsy.com

  2. John, I am interested in your visit to Cuenca. I stayed there on my trip to write about hotels and haciendas in Ecuador, two years ago. I wish you the best experience. Thanks so much for sharing it.

    I love Ecuador!

    Best,
    Sandra

  3. Ecuador is such a diverse and peaceful country. The weather, the colonial cities and the people are just fantastic. Nothing compares to the landscapes of the Highlands, the lush of the Amazon Rainforest, the exotic Beaches of the Coast and the mystery of the Galapagos Islands.

Leave a Reply

